Half term holiday has ended – 24 February 2021

It does not seem possible that it is over two months since I added to my blog. Where has the time gone as it seems it was only yesterday that I was planning for Christmas?

We are now in another lockdown so no more teaching or studying in College which has been tough as this makes sharing concerns or queries with my peers so much more difficult. Also teaching remotely has not been easy.

Module 1 was submitted before Christmas and we have been informed that we have all passed we just have to wait for the University to ratify this. That is a load off my mind but there has not been any chance that I can relax as there are two more Modules on the go.

Module 2 has now been submitted but as I have been without the internet for over two weeks, on and off, I thought that I would never get it completed in time. Do I think it is good enough that which I have submitted? I cannot truthfully say that I think is, perhaps if I had written a lit review for my degree I would feel more confident but I chose a different path, that of blogs, a presentation and a shorter essay. A lit review must not have personal opinions and needs to include a great many quotes.

The next Module needs to be submitted 28 February 2021 and I keep revisiting it and re-writing sections as I am dissatisfied with what I have written. I also have found out what one section was all about today as one of the other students asked the question. I have now re-written it but I think that I need to go back and alter this as I have to make sure that I have not waffled.

It is quite easy to waffle when you have no idea what you are doing but at least I have managed to reduce the amount of writing I have included for my presentations.

Tonight is the second observed lesson, this time by my mentor, the previous one was observed by our tutor who gave me some positive feedback but I still have more to work on, which means that I need to work on learning how to use certain tools to include more technology. It is so difficult to check on what the students are producing in the way of work and it is so difficult to have a one-to-one without all the students hearing what you are saying and that could make a student unhappy. Not that I say anything unkind or unpleasant but it is hard for a student to share their concerns with me.

With the news that we should be able to return to College on 8 March, the need to get to grips with all this technology should be reduced as we will be able to teach face-to-face. You might question how you can teach art when you are unable to give a demonstration, it is not easy. Showing what you need the students to do on camera is difficult and only works if you can record it before hand and edit it to provide the information that the students need. Not having a suitable camera this is nigh on impossible.

If we get back on 8 March I will be able to work in the LRC with reliable internet and, of course, staff to talk to and ask for help if I experience any problems with locating information or need to know how to do anything.

Some students in my PGCE group are concerned about going back but as I have had my first jab, I am not in the least troubled with the thought of being in College. Let us hope that this is the last time we are prevented from actually attending college to continue with out studies.

Being at home, and not living by myself, it is so isolating and not easy to have someone to talk to about my studies or teaching a lesson. It will be so good to actually see my peers and my students and have a conversation regarding my studies and share knowledge and experiences with them. It is much easier if you can sit down and chat rather than have to plan when to contact one another and hope there is no problem with logging on or with seeing and hearing everyone.

Life goes on but it feels as if life has ended with being stuck indoors and not able to get out and visit places such as museums and art galleries. I have not volunteered since March last year and I look forward to going twice a month as a volunteer room steward and seeing the old familiar faces once more.

Until the next time, good bye.

Leave a comment